Skip to content

Wallpaper: Is it making a come back?

February 18, 2010

I’ve been hearing recently that wallpaper is making a comeback.  I’m wondering if the wallpaper industry is spreading this rumor, because I’m not personally seeing this “comeback” in my residential design practice.  I realize that my perspective is limited by my own clients and professional experiences, but if you want our scoop, we tear it down, we don’t put it up.

Consider this: I prefer faux finishing or murals to wallpaper because of the custom, one-of-a-kind look. Another upside is it doesn’t cost a fortune to remove once you’re tired of it. That said, wallpaper has some uses.  There are great quality wallpapers available that provide durability and interest to the walls.  It’s a practical approach to commercial interior design in hallways, offices and other public spaces. But if considering wallpaper for your own home, I have some caveats. Keep it limited to small areas of your home such as powder rooms or above or below a chair rail, which can be taken down with ease.

Dennis Frankowski, Owner DF Design, Inc

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 1:09 am

    I totally agree with this opinion, when in the 90’s wallpaper was not that modern and came the era of faux finish, there were dicovered very interesting ideas.

  2. July 6, 2011 7:26 am

    Wallpapers create such a comfort at home.You can design a lovely room by using only pieces of different wallpapers.

  3. April 26, 2012 7:47 am

    If I am not sure that wallpaper is making a comeback I will determinately consult a professional interior designer. Personally I am not fond of wallpapers but I see in some magazines that there are lots of types of wallpapers, decorated differently and moderated for any taste.

Leave a Reply

